Blue Eggs and Ham

Last week, a few days before my birthday, our new Ameraucana hen named Henrietta laid her first blue egg.  I’d heard that her sister had started laying a week prior, so I had a feeling that a pretty blue egg would be coming down the pike.  Last year all 5 of my silkies started laying within a week of each other.  Henrietta was no exception to her sister, even being separated from her and with her silkie step sisters.

Our girl the day she joined our brood back in September.  These days she's much more filled out and round.

Our girl the day she joined our brood back in September. These days she’s much more filled out and round.  And boy does she love to cuddle!  She likes to nap at the sliding glass door after she watches me do this and that in the house.

Henrietta's been laying an egg every other day.  They seem to be getting slightly larger.  Here they are with some brown silkie eggs.

Henrietta’s been laying an egg every other day. They seem to be getting slightly larger. Here they are with some brown silkie eggs.  By the way, I LOVE my plastic egg carton I snagged at Bed, Bath and Beyond.  It’s reusable and washable!

Size and color comparison.

Size and color comparison.  To be honest, the camera seems to wash out some of the blue color, but you get the gist.

And no, when I cracked open the blue eggs this morning, they did not boast a blue yoke as my daughter speculated, but instead a super orange scrambled eggs A LA Henrietta.

And no, when I cracked open the blue eggs this morning, they did not boast a blue yoke as my daughter speculated, but instead made super orange scrambled eggs a la Henrietta.  The taste surpasses even the most expensive store-bought cage free, organic, free-range eggs.  Why? They are mild, fluffy and oh so smooth.  Plus, they’re from your own girls, which always makes it more special.

4 thoughts on “Blue Eggs and Ham

  1. So cool! When I was a little girl my sisters grandparents lived next to an egg farm….it was so much fun helping to collect the thousand of eggs and all their shape, sizes and colors….It is a great memory…..

  2. She is a very pretty wheaten colored pullet. I can see from your egg carton photo that her egg is a really nice shade of blue, especially next to the brown silkie eggs. Great find on the egg carton, BTW! I am still waiting on a black silkie 5+ month old pullet to start laying. Any day now hopefully.

    • Leanne,
      Our silkies took much longer than I’d hoped to start laying. They ended up being about 7.5 months old, but of course you know this can vary. Now if I could just get them to stop going broody all the time!!

Leave a Reply

